Written by Smoak PR

Ford chosen to head SCBIO Board of Directors

News Release
Wayne Roper
Wayne Roper, SCBIO

Ford chosen to head SCBIO Board of Directors

Erin Ford, an experienced life science executive and economic development professional has been named chair of the Board of Directors for South Carolina Biotechnology Industry Organization (SCBIO) for 2017.

“This year we will be demonstrating the economic impact our community of innovators in advanced medicines, medical devices and diagnostic therapies are bringing to the state,” Ford said. “We have come out of our most successful conference, have a record number of members and are seeing a real growth in our companies and economic development prospects.”

SCBIO has formed a partnership with the South Carolina Department of
Commerce to carry out a life science economic impact study with strategic growth

Ford is director of sales at Poly-Med, Inc., of Anderson, a global innovation
company developing leading edge absorbable polymers and constructs for the
medical device industry. Prior to her role at Poly-Med, Inc. Erin was life science
business recruitment officer at the Upstate SC Alliance.
She formerly served as an ex-officio SCBIO board member from 2013 to 2015 and
led a regional biosciences task force comprised of industry executives from the
Upstate region of South Carolina.

Other new executive officers for 2017 are:
Craig Walker, vice chair and CEO of VidiStar, LLC of Greenville; Michael Rusnak,
treasurer and executive director of MUSC’s Foundation for Research
Development; Kathryn Becker, secretary and principal at Translational Science
Solutions, LLC of Charleston; and Terrell Mills, executive committee and attorney
at Wyche of Greenville.
Other Directors named to the SCBIO board for 2016 include:
Darralyn Alexander, CEO and principal for Reimbursement Strategies, LLC of Myrtle Beach; Rick Brisbin, patent and intellectual property attorney for Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, PA; Jerry Chang, vice president of business development for BioD, LLC of Greenville; Christian Graves, president of Carolina Biotechnology Group, Columbia; Martine LaBerge, chair, of the Clemson Department of Bioengineering; Sam Konduros, principal at SK Strategies of Greenville; Prakash Nagarkatti, vice president of research at the University of South Carolina, Columbia; Phil Vickery, senior director of manufacturing at Capsugel Americas, Greenwood.

SCBIO is a statewide nonprofit trade association representing the innovators and manufacturers of advanced medicines, medical devices, equipment, diagnostics and health care outcomes. Its members are researcher, entrepreneurs, executives and manufacturers who drive discovery, create therapies, relieve suffering and grow great companies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *